Top 10 Tuesday – The Broke and the Bookish link up

It’s that time of week again – my book top 10, care of The Broke and the Bookish. This time…

April 15: Top Ten Bookish Things (That Aren’t Books) That I’d Like To Own (new bookshelves, bookends, cool bookmark, a bookish shirt, etc. You can add things you DO own if you want).

f3360-toptentuesday

  1. A reading nook! I’m sure I’m not the only one who wishes for this. Tumblr is like a hell-hole of reading nook pictures for those who don’t have one. See here and here and here. I do have a bean bag in our spare room that could be the reading nook, but honestly we don’t use that room for much other than storage, so I’m not sure it counts. I want a window seat or big snuggly chair, surrounded by my books, to sit and read in. Ooh, with a table nearby for drinks and snacks and stuff.
  2. My own library Again, most book lovers crave their own library. We’d all like that Belle moment wouldn’t we? (Except…maybe without the Beast. I mean, he’s great and all, but scary nonetheless). I love wandering around old stately homes (history geek alert) and one of my favourite parts is always when you get to the study or library. To have a room just dedicated to reading and learning would be AMAZING.
  3. Floor to ceiling book shelves (with a ladder, natch) if I can’t have my own library So, the chances of getting my own library seems pretty remote. But aha! I have a cunning back up plan. Floor to ceiling bookshelves sounds a bit more feasible and would be almost as much fun. My family and I stayed in a converted barn one holiday and they had floor to ceiling bookcases in the biggest part of the house – the bit that actually used to be a barn. It was incredible and awesome. If you’re having floor to ceiling shelving though, you’re probably going to need one of those little book step ladders to reach the top shelves. Bonus points if it’s one of the slide-y ones!
  4. More Bookends I already own one set of cool bookends but would love to have some more (and places to display the books…) There’s something really elegant about bookends and I like the fact that they are displaying your books in a more obvious way than on the shelf. Fun fact about me: I always really wanted those cool A-Z ones Chandler buys Rachel in Friends.
  5. Writer figurine There is a wonderful china figurine of Jane Austen (or maybe Lizzie Bennet) at her writing desk in my Grandad’s house. (a bit like this one) I’ve always really loved it and wouldn’t mind having one similar. Doesn’t have to be the same, or Austen for that matter, but it looks very pretty and always cheers me up.
  6. Old fashioned writing desk I’m thinking of one like this. I had one a lot like that growing up, that used to belong to my great-grandmother. I really liked the way you could close it away and put things in compartments and secret drawers (I like organising stuff). There’s something very poetic about writing at a desk like that, too. You could be writing the next Pulitzer prize winner or your shopping list – either way, you feel important and writer-ish.
  7. Penguin classic covers postcards See here. I love the old fashioned Penguin covers. So simple and yet really eye-catching. I also enjoy sending random bits of post to people, so anything cool to write on is a winner with me.
  8. Word fridge magnets (Shakespeare quotes/make your own poetry etc) Everybody had these at one point, didn’t they? I’ve always wanted some of these and yet have never bought any. This is one of the sillier items on the list because it would be so easy for me just to buy some and yet I haven’t. They do always look like fun, though and stuff to do in the kitchen while cooking is always handy!
  9. Book-y things on my wall A whiiiiiillllllle ago now I bought some frame-able book quotes from this lovely lady and I STILL haven’t put them up. Terrible, I know. I like the idea of having book-related pictures and quotes up on the wall (especially in my library, see #2) to really immerse yourself in reading and the imaginary world, a perfect escape from work and chores.
  10. A book-time generator

Ok, so this is cheating somewhat as it isn’t actually a real thing. But I would love it if someone invented some sort of magical machine that allows you to stay where you are and finish your book (hell, even just the chapter) without having to go to sleep so you’re not book-hung-over the next day, or get off the train/bus/whatever, or come back from your lunch break or be interrupted. Wouldn’t that be amazing?

What bookish things are on your wishlist?

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday – The Broke and the Bookish link up

Leave a Reply

