Top 10 Tuesday – Link up with The Broke and The Bookish

f3360-toptentuesday

10 characters I’d take with me to a desert island

I really liked the topic this week. My selected 10 have been chosen for one of two reasons: either for fun or for survival…

 

1. Marcus Flutie (Jessica Darling books)

I feel like this requires no additional explanation.

 

2. Man Friday (Robinson Crusoe)

Because let’s face it, he did all the work and made Robinson look good.

 

3. Gemma (the Gemma books)

I feel like Gemma would be able to cheer everyone up by performing (she is an excellent singer and dancer) and would be a lot of fun to chat and gossip with.

 

4. Yuri Zhivago (Dr Zhivago)

A bit morose, but a doctor used to practicing in harsh conditions. Useful!

 

5. Stanley Yelnats (Holes)

Stanley is a trooper and he had to hide in the desert for ages, so would be handy to have around.

 

6. Jo March (Little Women)

Funny, smart and would write really excellent stories to keep us all amused.

 

7. Iorek Byrnison (The Golden Compass)

Come on guys, I think we can all agree that having a fighting, talking polar bear would be super useful on a desert island – who knows what creatures might be lurking. Plus, Lost has shown us that yes, polar bears can survive in tropical conditions.

 

8. Pi (Life of Pi)

Adept at surviving in terrible conditions and has proven to be resourceful. Also, I feel like he needs a hug.

 

9. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter books)

Well, duh. She’d be able to fix just about everything.

 

10. Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games)

The ultimate survivor, you’d need someone to keep you going no matter what.

 

Agree with my choices? Who would you take with you?

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Link up with The Broke and The Bookish

  1. I put Hermione on my list too! She would definitely make sure we both survive and probably find a way out. Also i think we would get a long great! I would also probably take a Will Herondale from the Infernal devices. lol anyways great post 🙂

    • You’ve got to have Hermione on there, how else would anyone survive? 😉 I liked your list – lots of characters I don’t know but your descriptions made them sound intriguing!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I’d want with me on a Deserted Island | Sourcerer

  3. Ha I had Iorek as well. Quite surprised to see him on another list! Also. We don’t know its a tropical island – so he could be even more useful if it turns out its a frozen island.

    • A few shared choices on there (and good point, no-one did ever say it was a tropical island…) I love the inclusion of Gandalf – he would instantly make me feel reassured.

Leave a Reply

