Top 10 Tuesday – Link up with the Broke and the Bookish

f3360-toptentuesday

This week’s topic…the top 10 authors I own the most books by

Kazuo Ishiguro (x7) –  One of my all time favourite writers, I own every novel he’s written plus one collection of short stories:

  • A Pale View of the Hills
  • An Artist of the Floating World
  • The Remains of the Day
  • The Unconsoled
  • When We Were Orphans
  • Never Let Me Go
  • Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall

Charles Dickens (x7) – Fell in love with his writing as a student and my grandfather gave me a collection of his works a few years ago:

  • Little Dorrit
  • Great Expectations
  • David Copperfield
  • Oliver Twist
  • Bleak House
  • Our Mutual Friend
  • A Tale of Two Cities

Jane Austen (x6) – Just the best – I have the collected works (even though I don’t like Mansfield Park…):

  • Emma
  • Persuasion
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Sense and Sensibility
  • Northanger Abbey
  • Mansfield Park

Judy Blume (x6) – A growing up must, I love my Judy Blume collection:

  • Forever
  • Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret
  • Tiger Eyes
  • Deenie
  • Just As Long As We’re Together
  • Here’s to you, Rachel Robinson

Sarah Dessen (x6) – A new favourite but have totally fallen in love with her books:

  • The Truth About Forever
  • What Happened to Goodbye?
  • That Summer
  • Along for the Ride
  • Just Listen
  • Lock and Key

Elizabeth Gaskell (x5) – I started to really enjoy reading Mrs Gaskell while I was at university:

  • Wives and Daughters
  • Mary Barton
  • The Cranford Chronicles
  • North and South
  • The Life of Charlotte Bronte

Danny Wallace (x5) – One of the funniest writers ever, Danny Wallace captures the English like no-one else:

  • Are you Dave Gorman?
  • Join Me
  • Yes Man
  • Awkward Situations for Men
  • Charlotte Street

Peter Carey (x4) – A truly great writer and always interesting:

  • Jack Maggs
  • Parrot and Olivier in America
  • The True History of the Ned Kelly Gang
  • Oscar and Lucinda

David Mitchell (x3) – An amazing and truly, truly original writer:

  • Cloud Atlas
  • Number9dream
  • The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

Margaret Atwood (x3) – One of the greats, and always trying to do something different:

  • The Handmaid’s Tale
  • Blind Assassin
  • Alias Grace

Who do you own the most books by?

 

NB: I didn’t include any book series’ as I felt like that would tip the scales a bit and didn’t seem to be included in the theme (for me); hence no J K Rowling, Megan McCafferty etc.

13 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Link up with the Broke and the Bookish

  1. What a great list! I have 5 Ishiguro’s so he didn’t make my list, but Judy Blume was really close with 9. I adore Peter Carey too, Oscar and Lucinda is one of my favourite books of all time – in fact I was tempted to call my twins Oscar and Lucinda but the hubby put his foot down!!

    • I hadn’t heard of many of the authors on your list; I shall have to go and find out more about them! I also love a good Philippa Gregory novel 🙂

  2. This was such a fun prompt this week! I probably could have included Judy Blume on my list, but they’re all packed away. I probably read each of her books at least 10 times over the years!

    • They never stop being awesome and relevant, do they? I love your list; I’m also a big fan of Anne Lamott and Agatha Christie. I hadn’t heard of several of the non-fiction writers on there, but I’ve recently started reading a LOT of non-fiction and am really enjoying it, so will definitely be checking them out.

  3. I like that you included the book titles you have. I am not familiar with Sarah Dessen or Danny Wallace, so I’ll have to look for their books. Great list!

    • Thank you! Danny Wallace always makes me laugh, his writing voice is so natural. I love that your list is mostly women writers. There are several classic writers I’ve heard of on there but never got round to reading and it reminded me to get that sorted!

  4. +JMJ+

    I like how eclectic your list is! =) I’m planning to read my first Margaret Atwood novel this month and The Handmaid’s Tale is one title I’m considering. The other is Oryx and Crake. Which Dystopian novel would you recommend if I could read only one?

    • Thank you! Out of the two Margaret Atwood novels you mentioned, I’m going to go with A Handmaid’s Tale, as I’ve actually never read Oryx and Crake, though I’ve heard it’s very good. I think it’s really hard to pick just one dystopian novel as there are so many great ones out there. I also really like Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro and I think Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell has dystopian elements.

Leave a Reply

